So Far in Korea

CatDog Café

Posted on: Jan.30.2013

Okay so I’m going to be putting up some posts of places I’ve been to in Daegu so far and maybe about some neat things that I’ve encountered here too.

So, I’ll start with the CatDog Cafe ! I first heard about it from someone in Seoul where you can drink some tea and hang out with cats. So I thought that was pretty cool except I hate cats. I figured there must be a dog cafe possibly in Daegu. I researched on google & found this cafe with 2 floors, one for dogs & one for cats.

On the afternoon of December 12, 2012, Pete, Rabi, & I went to look forIMG_0274 the CatDog Cafe in Downtown Daegu.
Admission is 8,000 won & it includes a drink.
The people who work there don’t speak much English but they have a sheet for instructions and how the place works in English for you to read.
IMG_0294Such as, you pay for admission & you get a stamp & then you order your drink of choice. The animals with ribbons around their necks are sick. You shouldn’t touch cats that have the ribbon and you shouldn’t feed treats to the dogs if they have a ribbon.

Pete and I first started with the cat area while Rabi waited by the counter. I don’t like cats but I went in to check it out and help Pete take pictures.

As you can see, only Pete was petting the cats while they just laid there. The cats were a bit boring lol Now to move on to the dog floor where all the fun was ! The dog floor was packed with people and we couldn’t get much dogs to come to us because everyone else was hogging them all. So we went to buy a bag of treats for 3000 won at the counter & that’s when we became popular with the dogs.

All the dogs were so cute & sweet. The golden retriever and the black labs had ribbons around their necks, and we couldn’t feed them treats. I felt bad because they kept coming to us with their sweet faces looking for a treat =( All in all it was a fun time hanging out with the dogs. I would definitely go back but on a weekday when it’s not so packed.

If you’re in Daegu, and want to check it out, here’s a map of Downtown Daegu I found from The Daegu Compass. I hope they don’t mind that I’m using this.

The red star marks the spot.

The red star marks the spot.

1 Response to "CatDog Café"

Oh my goodness! I would LOVE to visit these places! I’m usually pretty wary of animals but they seem so accustomed to being around different people all day I think I’d fair pretty well.

and that is one eager beagle! LOL

Leave a comment

sarahg813

sarahg813

I'm a small Chinese girl from Brooklyn, NYC. I moved to Korea to teach English & to have an amazing life experience.

View Full Profile →

Calendar

January 2013
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.